Student Composer Competition

Student Composer Competition2019-02-07T01:33:27+00:00

Our Annual Student Composer Competition Seeks To Showcase Emerging Texas Composers Through The Commission Of Works Performed By TNME Musicians

SCC 2018 Winner: Moni Jasmine Guo

After her piano and composition studies at Interlochen Arts Academy and The Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University, she is currently a second year Master student at Rice University studying composition under Pierre Jalbert.

Her previous composition teachers include Shih-hui Chen, Michael Hersch, Samuel Adler, Jason Eckardt, Amy Kirsten and Cynthia Van Mannen. She has also had master classes with Steven Stucky, Shulamit Ran, George Lewis, Scott McAllister, Christopher Rouse, David Ludwig, Donald Crockett, George Tsontakis, Hannah Lash, Ken Ueno, Nils Vigeland, Robert Cuckson, Emil Awad and Robert Paterson.

Her pieces have been read and performed by famous soloists such as Miranda Cuckson, Courtney Orlando, Michael Kannen, Kyung Wha Chu, also ensembles such as IIIZ+ and Deviant Septet.

Jasmine is now a member of The Pi Kappa Lambda Society, she has received the P. Bruce Blair Award in Composition and the Pauline Favin Memorial Award in Piano in 2016. She is also being awarded the JCCAA Scholarship in 2017. Her music has been performed in the US and Europe.

2017 SCC Winner: Alejandro Basulto-Martinez

Alejandro’s composition style is characterized by a blend of diverse composition techniques and references to contemporary popular music. His music has been performed by the Morgan Szymanski and the Orchestra of the Swan (UK), Jalisco Philharmonic, Barcelona Symphonic Band, Cuarteto Latinoamericano, Bratislava Symphony Orchestra, CEPROMUSIC, Mexico City Wood Wind Quintet and Sequenza Sur, among others. Alejandro’s music has been performed in venues such as the Fine Arts Palace (México City), Catalonian National Auditorium (Spain) and Santos Degollado Concert Hall (Jalisco), among others. Alejandro’s awards include the First Prize in the National Orchestral Composition Competition in Jalisco (2016), Second Prize (professional category) and Audience Award in the Robert Avalon International Composition Competition (2016), the First Prize in the Alabama Orchestra Association Composition Competition (2016), First Prize in the International Composition Competition “Manuel Enríquez” (2015), Second Prize in the Composition Competition “Nuestra América” (2014), the “Youth Award in Arts” from the State of Yucatán (2012), First Place in the National Competition for Composition Students (2010), among others.

Alejandro has composed music for several award-winning multimedia projects and films, including numerous collaborations with Mexican studio AVA (Artes Visuales y Animación), which range from the world’s biggest projection mapping in Romania (iMapp Bucharest) to the Russian festival Circles of Light at the Bolshoi Theater.

Alejandro holds a Bachelor’s degree from the “Conservatorio de las Rosas” (cum laude) where his principal teacher was Dr. Javier Álvarez, a Master’s degree in Film Scoring and a graduate diploma in Orchestral Conducting from the ESMUC (Barcelona, Spain) where he studied with Dr. Salvador Brotons. He earned the Fulbright-García Robles scholarship to study a Master’s Degree in Music Composition at the Moores School of Music-University of Houston, under the guidance of Dr. Rob Smith, where he is the Assistant Director of AURA Contemporary Music Ensemble. Alejandro was born and raised in Mérida, Yucatán in the southeast of México.

Submissions for SCC 2019 will open in late 2018


Open to any composer currently enrolled in a music degree program at a Texas institution.


One winner will be commissioned to write a work to be premiered at the TNME Annual Summer Concert.


Any work for 2 – 8 players for any instrumentation (including electronics) will be eligible.  An original Score and CV is required.  A recording of the piece may be submitted as well, but is not required.

A $35 Application Fee, is required to complete registration.

To stay updated on SCC details and announcements, please sign up for the TNME mailing list below.